United Arab Emirates Dirham | UAE Dirhan Currency

United Arab Emirates Dirham

United Arab Emirates Dirham:

United Arab Emirates dirham is the official currency of United Arab Emirates. The official code of dirham is AED. The dirham is subdivided into 100 fils. On 19 May 1973 was introduced the United Arab Emirates dirham. Dirham replaced the Qatar and Dubai riyal at par.

The coins were introduced in 1973; namely 1, 5, 10, 25, 50 fils and 1 dirham coins. The fils coins were similar size and composition to the Qatar and Dubai dirham coins. The 50 fils and 1 dirham coin size were reduced in 1995.  Many commemorative coins were issued by the Currency Board of the united Arab Emirates as a mark of celebrating different events of the rulers of the United Arab Emirates since 1976.

The United Arab Emirates Board introduced notes on 20 May 1973; the denominations are 1, 5, 10, 50 and 100 dirhams. On 3 January 1976, a 1000 dirham note was issued. 1 and 1000 dirham notes were omitted in 1982. In 1983, 500 dirham notes were introduced. In 2000, 1000 dirham notes were reintroduced. The denominations of 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500 and 1000 dirhams banknotes are currently available. In 1989, the 200 dirham denomination was introduced.  On 22 March 2008, a new 50 dirham was released.

You may like,

Scuba Dive Tour 

Famous Thailand Beaches

Atlantis Submarine Sea Tour

Heal Through Pure Ayurveda

Hong Kong Tourist Attractions 

China Top 10 Best Tour Attractions

Brazil Top Tourist Attractions

Best Of Kashmir Tourism

Singapore Tour Attractions

United Arab Emirates Dirham

UAE Dirham (United Arab Emirates):

Code: AED

Symbol: د.إ


1⁄100 = fils (فلس)


5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000 dirhams


25, 50 fils, 1 dirham, 1, 5, 10 fils

Central bank:

Central Bank of the UAE

Most traded currencies:

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
11 + 7 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.