Tongan Pa'anga Currency | Tonga | TOP


Tongan paʻanga Currency:

Tongan paʻanga is the official currency of Tonga.  The ISO code of Tongan paʻanga is TOP and symbol is T$.  It is subdivided into 100 seniti. The official bank of Tonga is National Reserve Bank of Tonga.  In English the currency is called the dollar , the seniti as the cent and hau as the union. On 3 April 1967, the pa’anga was introduced.  Pa’anga replaced the pound at a rate of 1 pound =2 pa’anga. The pa'anga was pegged to the Australian dollar at par, until 11 February 1991.

Denominations of 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 seniti and 1 and 2 pa’anga coins were introduced in 1967.  Denominations of 1,2,5,10,20 and 50 seniti coins are currently in circulation. On account of the decrease in value in the coins of one and two seniti, they are rarely seen and available for a few months after being released for circulation.

The government introduced banknotes in denominations of ½, 1, 2, 5 and 10 pa’anga in 1967. The king Taufa'ahau Tupou IV appeared on the notes from 1974. In 1985, 20 pa’anga notes were introduced. 50 pa’anga notes were introduced in 1988.  The National Reserve Bank of Tonga introduced a new family of pa’anga banknotes on June 29, 2015 in six denominations, from 2 to 100 pa’anga.


Tongan Pa’anga (Tonga):

Code: TOP


T$ (sometimes PT)

Seniti: ¢


100 = hau


1/100 = seniti


T$1, T$2, T$5, T$10, T$20, T$50, T$100


1¢, 2¢, 5¢, 10¢, 20¢, 50¢, T$1

Central bank            :

National Reserve Bank of Tonga

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
5 + 5 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.