Tanzanian Shilling | Tanzania currency | TZS

Tanzanian Shilling

Tanzanian Shilling:

Shilling is the official currency of Tanzania. In its national language Swahili, the currency is called “Shillingi” and is denoted by the sign TSh. Shilling is further subdivided 100 equal parts called senti. The previous currency of Tanzania East African Shilling was replaced the present Shilling on par on 14th June 1966. The normal written way of expressing amounts is in the form of x/y where x denotes the amount in shillings and y represents senti. For example, the expression of amount 70/50 means 70 shillings 50 senti. The expression 70/- or 70/= is to mean 70 Tanzanian shillings and -/50 or =/50 means 50 senti.

The paper currency notes in circulation are 500, 1000, 2000, 5000 and 10000 shillings and the coins in active usage are 50, 100, 200 and 500 shillings. As at the end of February 2018, the exchange value of Tanzanian shilling to a single US dollar stood at 2214 TSh approximately.

Tanzanian Shilling

Tanzanian Shilling (Tanzania):

Code: TZS


1/100 = senti

Symbol: TSh


500, 1000, 2000, 5000, 10,000 shilingi


50, 100, 200, 500 shilingi

Central bank            :

Bank of Tanzania

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
3 + 0 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.