Sudanese Pound Currency | Sudan | Qirsh Currency

Sudanese Pound

Sudanese pound Currency:

Pound is the official currency of Sudan. Upto July 18, 2011, it was also used by South Sudan which created its own currency subsequently. Prior to the use of Sudanese pound, the common currency was Egyptian pound. During the 19th century, the rebels Muhammad Ibn Abdalla (the Mahdi) and Abdallahi Ibn Muhammad (the Khalifa) were instrumental in imposing simultaneous circulation of indigenous coinage along with the Egyptian pound. With the cessation of Anglo-Egyptian rule in Sudan in 1956, the Egyptian pound was replaced by the new currency Sudanese pound on par with effect from January 1, 1956.

Between the two decades 1958 to 1978, the Sudanese pound was pegged to the US dollar at $2.87156 per Sudanese pound, followed by several devaluations. In 1992, the pound was replaced by dinar with one dinar being equalized with ten pounds. The Sudanese pound was in wide circulation in Northern Sudan while the currencies like Rumbek and Yei Kenyan Shilling were in use in Southern Sudan. The second pound began being circulated in 2007 and became the sole legal tender from 1st July 2007. The third series of Sudanese pound has been conceptualized on July 24, 2011 with the separation of South Sudan from the Republic of Sudan. The present paper currency notes in circulation are 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 pounds and the coins are 1, 5, 10, 20 and 50 piasters and one pound.

Sudanese Pound

Sudanese Pound (Sudan):

Code: SDG


1/100 = qirsh (piastre)

Symbol: SD or ج.س


2, 5, 10, 20, 50 pounds


1, 5, 10, 20, 50 piasters, 1 pound

Central bank:         

Central Bank of Sudan


Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
5 + 0 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.