You are here

Singapore dollar | SGD | Cent | Singapore Currency

Singapore dollar

Singapore Dollar:

Singapore Dollar is official currency of Singapore and it was introduced in 1967. It is divided into 100 cents. As of 2016, the Singapore dollar is the 12th most traded currency in the world by value. According to the Currency Interchangeability Agreement between the Monetary Authority of Singapore and the Autoriti Monetari Brunei Darussalam the Singapore dollar is also accepted as customary tender in Brunei, likewise the Brunei dollar is also customarily accepted in Singapore.

Singapore used the Straits dollar in between 1845 and 1939. This was replaced by the Malayan dollar, which was then replaced by Malaya and British Borneo Dollar in 1953. Singapore continued to use the common currency upon joining Malaysia in 1963, but only 2 years, in 1965, when the country achieved independence from Malaysia as the Republic of Singapore.

On 7 April 1967, Singapore established a Board of Commissioners of Currency who introduced the Singapore Dollar. On 31 March 2003, Monetary Authority of Singapore took the responsibility of banknote issuance when the Board of Commissioners of Currency Singapore (BCCS) merged with the Monetary Authority of Singapore.

Singapore Dollar (Singapore):

Code: SGD

Symbol: S$ or $


1/100 = cent


S$2, S$5, S$10, SS$20, $50, S$100, S$1,000, S$10,000


1, 5, 10, 20, 50 cents, S$1

You may like,

Scuba Dive Tour 

Heal Through Pure Ayurveda

Hong Kong Tourist Attractions 

China Top 10 Best Tour Attractions

Brazil Top Tourist Attractions

Best Of Kashmir Tourism

Official users:          

Brunei (alongside the Brunei dollar)

Unofficial users:     

  • Indonesia

  • Laos

  • Malaysia

  • South Africa

Singapore dollar

Monetary authority          

Monetary Authority of Singapore

Most traded currencies:

  1. United States dollar (USD)

  2. Euro (EUR)

  3. Japanese yen (JPY)

  4. Pound sterling (GBP)

  5. Australian dollar (AUD)

  6. Canadian dollar (CAD)

  7. Swiss franc (CHF)

  8. Renminbi (CNY)

  9. Swedish krona (SEK)

  10. New Zealand dollar (NZD)

  11. Mexican peso (MXN)

  12. Singapore dollar (SGD)

  13. Hong Kong dollar (HKD)

  14. Norwegian krone (NOK)

  15. South Korean won (KRW)

  16. Turkish lira (TRY)

  17. Russian ruble (RUB)

  18. Indian rupee (INR)

  19. Brazilian real (BRL)

  20. South African rand (ZAR)

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
3 + 17 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.