Seychellois Rupee Currency | Seychelles | SCR | SR

Seychellois Rupee

Seychellois rupee:

The rupee is the official currency of the Seychelles. Seychellois rupee subdivided into 100 cents. The official code is SCR and symbol is SR.  The central bank empowered to issue the currency is Central Bank of Seychelles.

The Government produced emergency issued notes of 50 cents, 1, 5 and 10 rupees in 1914. In 1918, the government issued standard notes; with notes for 50 cents and 1 rupee. In 1928, it introduced 5, 10 and 50 rupees. Until 1951, the 50 cents and 1 rupee notes were issued and phased out in favor of the coins. In 1968, 20-rupee and 100-rupee notes were introduced. In 1972, 5-rupee note was replaced by a coin. The power to issue the paper currency notes was vested with Seychelles Monetary Authority in 1976 and the bank notes in the denominations of 10, 25, 50 and 100 rupees were issued.

In 2005, 500-rupee note was introduced. The Central Bank of Seychelles issued updated 50, 100 and 500 rupees notes with improved security features on June 7, 2011. The Central Bank of Seychelles issued a new series of banknotes to commemorate 40 years of Seychelles’ independence in December 2016. The coins in current circulation are 1, 5, 10, 25 cents and 1,5,10 rupees.

Seychellois Rupee

Seychellois Rupee (Seychelles):

Code: SCR


1/100= cent

Symbol: SR or SRe


25, 50, 100, 500 rupees


1, 5, 10, 25 cents, 1, 5, 10 rupees

Central bank           

Central Bank of Seychelles

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
4 + 5 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.