Rwandan Franc Currency | Rwanda country | RWF

Rwandan Franc

Rwandan Franc:

Rwandan Franc is the official currency of Rwanda. Rwandan Franc is subdivided into one hundred equal parts called centimes. Prior to invasion of Belgium in 1916, Rwanda was a German colony when German East African Rupie had been the monetary currency. With German occupying Rwanda in 1916, East African Rupie was replaced by Belgian Congo Franc which was used till 1960. In 1960, Belgian Congo Franc was substituted by Rwanda and Burundi Franc. Rwanda Francs came into circulation since 1964.

A new currency called East African shilling is contemplated to be introduced by the end of 2012 as the common currency to all the five member states of East African Community but not yet materialized even by 2016. As the central bank, the National Bank of Rwanda oversees the issuance and circulation of banknotes and coins. The paper currency notes are presently circulated in the denominations of 500, 1000, 2000 and 5000 Francs and the coins are issued with denominations 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50 and 100 Francs.

Rwandan Franc

Rwandan Franc (Rwanda):

Code: RWF

Symbol: FRw, RF, R₣


1/100= centime


500, 1000, 2000, 5000 francs


1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50 and 100 francs

Central bank:         

National Bank of Rwanda

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
7 + 3 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.