Romanian Leu Currency | Romania Leu Notes Coins

Romanian Leu

Romanian Leu Currency:

Romanian Leu is the official currency of Romania. It is further subdivided into one hundred equal parts called bani. The name “Leu” means in native parlance “lion”. The National Bank of Romania is the central bank for issuance and regulation of the currency.

Due to instability of history, there were frequent issuance of coins and notes by the monetary authority. The first issuance of coins was begun in the year 1867 followed by subsequent issuances in the years 1947, 1952, 2005 with commemorative coins issued in 2010, 2011, 2012, 2014, 2015 and 2016. Similarly the currency notes were begun to be issued in 1877 with denominations of 5,10,20,50,100 and 500. Further issuance of notes continued in 1947, 1952 subsequently and the polymer notes were made to circulate in 2005. The banknotes which are more frequently in the present usage are 1 leu, 5, 10, 50, 100 and 200 lei. The coins which are in wider usage are of the denominations 5, 10 and 50 bani. The currency note of 500 lei and the coin of 1 ban are used infrequently.

Romanian Leu

Romanian Leu (Romania):

Code: RON

Symbol: lei


1/100 = ban


1 leu, 5, 10, 50, 100, 200, 500 lei


1 ban, 5, 10, 50 bani



Socialist Republic of Romania (1965–1989)

Romanian People's Republic (1947–1965)

Kingdom of Romania (1881–1947)

Kingdom of Romania Transnistria Governorate (1941–1944)

Principality of Romania (1867–1881)

Central bank:         

National Bank of Romania (since 1867)

Red Army (1944)

INFINEX (1941–1944)

General Romanian Bank (1917–1919)

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
11 + 1 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.