You are here

New Zealand dollar | NZD | New zealands currency

New Zealand dollar

New Zealand Dollar:

The official currency of New Zealand is New Zealand dollar. It is denoted by the symbol NZ$ in order to distinguish it from the other international currencies with the same name. The New Zealand dollar is also legal tender in Cooks Islands (self-governing island country comprising 15 smaller islands in free association with New Zealand), Niue (yet another smaller island in South Pacific Ocean), the Ross Dependency (a region in Antarctica), Tokelau (non-self governing country in South Pacific Ocean) and Pitcairn Islands (British Overseas Territory in South Pacific Ocean).

New Zealand dollar is further sub-divided into 100 equal parts called cents. The coins which are presently in circulation are of the denominations 10c, 20c, 50c, $1 and $2. The least denominated coin 10c comes in the copper-plated steel whereas the coins 20c and 50c are made of Nickel-plated silver and the coins of higher denominations of $1 and $2 are of aluminum bronze alloy.

The paper currency notes of New Zealand dollar are in present circulation with denominations $5, $10, $20, $50 and $100. For the year 2015, the $5 bank note of New Zealand was named the bank note of the year, emerging as a clear winner out of 40 eligible patterns considered from a huge number of twenty contesting countries. The five-dollar note of New Zealand currency features the image of Edmund Hillary who gained international fame of being one of the persons who scaled the Mount Everest, the tallest mountain in the world. It also exhibits in the backdrop the South Island’s Aoraki/Mount Cook on the same facet. On the other façade of the note appear the image of the rare bird “the yellow-eyed penguin” along with locally surviving plantation.

New Zealand dollar has been consistently among the top ten most-traded currencies for many years in the world. The latest currency notes released by the central bank of New Zealand are printed with Brighter Money Range features that focus on prioritising improved security features, vibrant imagery and innovative designs.

New Zealand Dollar (Tokelau (New Zealand)):

Code: NZD

Symbol: $


1/100 = cent


$5, $10, $20, $50, $100


10c, 20c, 50c, $1, $2


  • Cook Islands (New Zealand), alongside Cook Islands dollar

  • Niue (New Zealand)

  • Pitcairn Islands (UK)

  • New Zealand Ross Dependency (New Zealand)

  • Tokelau (New Zealand)

Central bank            :

Reserve Bank of New Zealand

New Zealand dollar

Most traded currencies:

  1. United States dollar (USD)

  2. Euro (EUR)

  3. Japanese yen (JPY)

  4. Pound sterling (GBP)

  5. Australian dollar (AUD)

  6. Canadian dollar (CAD)

  7. Swiss franc (CHF)

  8. Renminbi (CNY)

  9. Swedish krona (SEK)

  10. New Zealand dollar (NZD)

  11. Mexican peso (MXN)

  12. Singapore dollar (SGD)

  13. Hong Kong dollar (HKD)

  14. Norwegian krone (NOK)

  15. South Korean won (KRW)

  16. Turkish lira (TRY)

  17. Russian ruble (RUB)

  18. Indian rupee (INR)

  19. Brazilian real (BRL)

  20. South African rand (ZAR)

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
5 + 1 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.