Nepalese rupee Currency | Nepal Rupee Notes

Nepalese rupee

Nepalese Rupee Currency:

The Nepalese rupee is the currency of the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal. It is subdivided into 100 paisa. The official code of currency is NPR and symbol is RS. The Central bank is Nepal Rastra Bank. In 1932, the rupee was introduced which replacing the silver mohar at a rate of 2 mohar = 1 rupee.  In 1994, the Nepalese rupee was pegged to the Indian rupee at a rate of 1.6 Nepalese rupees = 1 Indian rupee.

In between 1972 – 2001, banknotes of 2 and 20 rupees and special banknotes of 25 and 250 rupees were issued for the first time.  A 500 rupee note was issued on October 2007; on which the king’s portrait was replaced by Mt. Everest. Further notes of 5, 10, 20, 50, 100 and 1000 rupees with Mt. Everest and without reference to the king in their legends followed in 2008. The government introduced notes on 17 September 1945 in denominations of 5, 10 and 100 rupees with the name used in Nepalese. There are also 25 and 250 rupees notes commemorating the Silver Jubilee of Birendra Bir Bikram Shah in 1997. Current circulating coins are Rs.1, Rs.2 are frequently used coins and rarely used coins are 1, 5, 10, 25, 50 paisa and Rs.5 and Rs.10.

You may like,

Scuba Dive Tour 

Famous Thailand Beaches

Atlantis Submarine Sea Tour

Heal Through Pure Ayurveda

Hong Kong Tourist Attractions 

China Top 10 Best Tour Attractions

Brazil Top Tourist Attractions

Best Of Kashmir Tourism

Singapore Tour Attractions

Nepalese rupee

Nepalese Rupee (Nepal):

Code: NPR

Symbol: रु


1/100 = Paisa

Rs. (plural), Re. (singular)


रु1, रु2, रु5, रु10, रु20, रु25, रु50, रु100, रु250, रु500, रु1000


1, 5, 10, 25, 50 paisa, रु1, रु2, रु5, रु10

Central bank:

Nepal Rastra Bank

Most traded currencies:

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
12 + 4 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.