Mongolian Togrog Currency | Mongolia

Mongolian Togrog

Mongolian Togrog Currency:

Mongolian Togrog or Tugrik is the official legal tender of Mongolia. It is further subdivided into one hundred equal sub-units called mongo. The issuance of Togrog is overseen by the Bank of Mongolia which is the central bank of the country.

The Mongolian Togrog or Tugrik is represented by the symbol ₮. The currency notes which are circulation are
1, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 500, 1,000, 5,000, 10,000, 20,000 tögrög. The coins presently circulating in the country are
20, 50, 100, 200, 500 tögrög.

The Mongolian Togrog was introduced in the country at a rate equivalent to one Russian ruble on par with 18 grams of silver on 9th December, 1925. The previous Mongolian dollar and other currencies were totally superseded by the togrog subsequently on 1st April, 1928. The Mongo coins have ceased to be in circulation as currency due to their ignorable value and they are sold to tourists as souvenirs or inexpensive minor artefacts.

Mongolian Togrog

Mongolian Tögrög (Mongolia):

Code: MNT



1/100= möngö (мөнгө)


1, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 500, 1,000, 5,000, 10,000, 20,000 tögrög


20, 50, 100, 200, 500 tögrög

Central bank:

Bank of Mongolia


Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
1 + 0 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.