Mauritanian Ouguiya Currency | Mauritania Notes

Mauritanian Ouguiya

Mauritanian ouguiya Currency:

The ouguiya is official currency of Mauritania and it is made up of five khoums. It is one of the two circulating currencies along with Malagasy ariary, whose subdivision units are not based on a power of ten. Ouguiya was first introduced in 1973 to replace the CFA Franc, at a rate of 1 Ouguiya = 5 Francs. Coins were introduced in 1973 in the denominations of ⅕ (1khoums), 1, 5, 10 and 20 ouguiya. Coins are minted at the Kremnica mint in Slovakia. Bank notes were introduced in 1973 by Central Bank of Mauritania in the denominations of 100, 200 and 1,000 ouguiya.

The Central Bank of Mauritania announced a redenomination of its currency at a rate of 1:10 on December 5, 2017. As part of the redenomination, a new series of coins was to be issued in denominations of 1 khoums (⅕ Ouguiya), 1, 5, 10 and 20 ouguiya and new series of bank notes in denominations of 50, 100, 200, 500 and 1,000 ouguiya. The new ouguiya banknotes issued for the redenomination were to be printed entirely on polymer.

Mauritanian Ouguiya

Mauritanian Ouguiya (Mauritania):

Code: MRU

Symbol: UM


1/5 = khoums


50, 100, 200, 500, 1000 ouguiya


1, 5, 10, 20 ouguiya, 1 khoums (⅕ Ouguiya)

Official Users:         

Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic

Central bank            :

Banque Centrale de Mauritanie

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
14 + 1 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.