Manx Pound Currency | Isle of Man United Kingdom

Manx Pound

Manx pound Currency:

The official currency of Isle of Man is Manx pound. It is denoted by symbol is £. The Manx pound is divided into 100 pence. Isle of Man Government issued notes and coins, denominated in pounds and pence.

½, 1, 2, 5, 10 and 50 new pence coins were introduced in 1971. In 1978, the 1 pound coin was introduced.  Later in 1982,  the 20 pence coin was introduced. Currently circulating coins are 1p, 2p, 5p, 10p, 20p, 50p, £1, £2 and £5.

 The Isle of Man Banking Company was founded in 1865 and began issuing £1 notes. In 1894, £5 notes were introduced. In 1926, the bank changed its name to the Isle of Man Bank. The Isle of Man Government started to issue its own notes on 3 July 1961 onwards, in denominations of 10 shillings, £1 and £5. 10 shillings note was replaced by a 50 pence note in 1969.  In 1979, £20 notes were introduced, followed by £50 note was in 1983. The 50 pence banknote was withdrawn in 1989. The Isle of Man continues to issue a £1 note in addition to the £1 coin.

Manx Pound

Manx Pound (Isle of Man (UK))

Code: IMP

Symbol: £


1/100 = penny


£1, £5, £10, £20, £50


1p, 2p, 5p, 10p, 20p, 50p, £1, £2, £5


Isle of Man Treasury

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
10 + 2 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.