Maldivian Rufiyaa Currency | Maldives Rs Notes

Maldivian Rufiyaa

Maldivian Rufiyaa Currency:

Rufiyaa is the official currency of Maldives. The name “Rufiyaa” has its roots from the Sanskrit word “rupya” which means wrought silver. Maldivian rufiyaa is a decimalized currency which means it is divided into 100 equal minor subunits called laari. The power to issue and circulate rufiyaa is vested with the Maldives Monetary Authority.

Maldivian rufiyaa is represented by various symbols like Rf, MRf, MVR, .ރ or /-. The currency notes which are in circulation are Rf. 5, Rf. 10, Rf. 20, Rf. 50, Rf. 100, Rf. 500 and Rf.1000. The coins that are presently in usage are 1 laari, 5 laari, 10 laari, 25 laari, 50 laari , Rf 1 and Rf 2.

The Maldives Monetary Authority has implemented issue of polymer notes with denominations of 1000 and 5000 rufiyaa on the eve of 50th anniversary of independence. It was also contemplated to issue a coin with denomination of 5 rufiyaa replacing the note of the same denomination but considering the public preference, the note of 5 rufiyaa was made to continue in circulation.

You may like,

Scuba Dive Tour 

Famous Thailand Beaches

Atlantis Submarine Sea Tour

Heal Through Pure Ayurveda

Hong Kong Tourist Attractions 

China Top 10 Best Tour Attractions

Brazil Top Tourist Attractions

Best Of Kashmir Tourism

Singapore Tour Attractions

Maldivian Rufiyaa

Maldivian Rufiyaa (Maldives):

Code: MVR

Symbol: Rf, MRf, MVR,  .ރ or /-


1⁄100 = laari


Rf. 5, Rf. 10, Rf. 20, Rf. 50, Rf. 100, Rf. 500, Rf.1000


1 laari, 5 laari, 10 laari, 25 laari, 50 laari , Rf 1, Rf 2

Central bank:         

Maldives Monetary Authority

Most traded currencies:

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
3 + 1 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.