Malawian Kwacha Currency | Malawi Kwacha Notes

Malawian Kwacha

Malawian Kwacha Currency:

Kwacha is the official currency of Malawi. Malawi is a nation in the African continent and is landlocked or surrounded by Zambia, Tanzania and Mozambique. Malawi was earlier known as Nyasaland before gaining independence which had been a part of the British Protectorate.

Kwacha is a decimalized currency which is further subdivided into one hundred equal parts called tambala. Malawian Kwacha is denoted by the symbol MK. The issuance and circulation of the currency and the coins is controlled by the central bank of the country called the Reserve Bank of Malawi. The currency banknotes which are in circulation are 20, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1,000 and 2,000 kwacha. The coins that are in wide circulation are 1, 5 and 10 kwacha. In the wake of high inflation, the coins with denominations of 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 tambala have lost practical value and significance and are rarely seen in monetary transactions.

Most People Like to Visit,

Scuba Dive Tour 

Heal Through Pure Ayurveda

Hong Kong Tourist Attractions 

China Top 10 Best Tour Attractions

Brazil Top Tourist Attractions

Best Of Kashmir Tourism

Malawian Kwacha

Malawian Kwacha (Malawi):

Code: MWK

Symbol: MK


1/100 = tambala


20, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1,000, 2,000 kwacha


1, 5, 10 kwacha, 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50 tambala

Central bank:         

Reserve Bank of Malawi

Other Currencies,

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
4 + 1 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.