Lesotho Loti Currency | Lesotho Loti Notes Coins

Lesotho Loti

Lesotho Loti Currency:

The Loti is the official currency of the Kingdom of Lesotho. It is subdivided into 100 Lisente. The official code of loti currency is LSL and symbol is L or M. The loti was first issued in 1966 as a non-circulating currency. Lesotho issued its first coins in 1980, in both loti and lisente to replace the South African Rand.

Coins were introduced in 1980 in denominations of 1 senate, 2, 5, 10, 25 and 50 lisente and 1 loti. 2 and 5 maloti coins were introduced in 1996. 20 lisente coins were introduced in 1998. Coins in circulation are 5, 10, 20 and 50 lisente, 1 loti, 2 and 5maloti. Banknotes were introduced in January 1980 in denominations of 2, 5 and 10 maloti. In 1981, 20 and 50 maloti notes were added, followed by 100 and 200 maloti in 1994.  The Central Bank of Lesotho launched a new series of banknotes on 1 March 2011.

Lesotho Loti

Lesotho Loti (Lesotho) Currency:

Code: LSL

Symbol: L or M (pl.)


1/100 = sente


M10, M20, M50, M100, M200


1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50 lisente, L1, M2, M5

Central bank:         

Central Bank of Lesotho

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
8 + 11 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.