Lebanese Pound Currency | Lebanon Pound Notes

Lebanese Pound

Lebanese Pound Currency:

Lebanese Pound is the official currency of Lebanon. It is subdivided into 100 piastres or qeresh but over time inflation has removed the subdivisions. Before the World War I the Ottoman Lira was currency in Lebanon. After the fall of the Ottoman Empire in 1919, the currency became the Egyptian pound. Upon gaining control of Syria and Lebanon, the French introduced the new currency for Syria and Lebanon, the Syrian pound. It replaced the Egyptian pound and was linked to the French franc at a value of 1 pound = 20 francs. 

Lebanon's first coins were introduced from 1924 in the denominations of 2 and 5 girush. Bank notes were introduced from 1925 and the currency notes that have been issued range from 25 girsha to 100 pounds. Bank notes of Lebanon were first introduced by the Bank of Syria and Greater Lebanon later in 1939 the bank's name was changed to the Bank of Syria and Lebanon.  In 1939, the Lebanese currency was officially separated from that of Syria though it was still linked to the French Franc and remained interchangeable with Syrian money.

After being defeated by the Nazi Germany in 1941, the Lebanese Pound was linked to the British Pound Sterling equalized to 8.83 Lebanese Pound. After the war, it was relinked to French Franc which was later discontinued in 1949. The presently used currency notes are 1000, 5000, 10000, 20000, 50000 and 100000 pounds and the coins are 250 and 500 pounds.

Lebanese Pound

Lebanese Pound (Lebanon):

Code: LBP

Symbol: ل.ل.‎

LL (international)


1⁄100 = qeresh


1000, 5000, 10 000, 20 000, 50 000, 100 000 pounds


250, 500 pounds

Central bank:

Banque du Liban

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
16 + 3 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.