Indonesian Rupiah Currency | Indonesia Rupiah

Indonesian Rupiah

Indonesian Rupiah Currency:

Indonesian Rupiah is the legal tender of Indonesia is rupiah. The Indonesian rupiah is a decimalized currency and hence it is further divisible into hundred smaller units called sen. The subsequent hyper-inflation that swept across the nation has rendered the subunits of the currency of little practical value. The Indonesian rupiah is expressed by the symbol Rp. The different versions or counterparts of Indonesian rupiah used by the Rieu islands and the Indonesian half of New Guinea (Irian Barat) were merged into Indonesian rupiah in 1964 and 1971 respectively.

The present valid coins of Indonesian rupiah in circulation, ranging from 100 rupiah and 1000 rupiah, are of the denominations Rp 100, Rp 200, Rp 500 and Rp 1000. The coin of 1 rupiah is still the legal tender but it lost its usability due to acute deterioration in the value of currency as a repercussion of inflation. The more actively and frequently used currency notes in circulation are of the denominations Rp 2000, Rp 5000, Rp 10000, Rp 20000, Rp 50000 and Rp 100000. The responsibility of issuance and regulation of the currency lies with the central bank of the country called the Central Bank of Indonesia.

You may like,

Scuba Dive Tour 

Heal Through Pure Ayurveda

Hong Kong Tourist Attractions 

China Top 10 Best Tour Attractions

Brazil Top Tourist Attractions

Best Of Kashmir Tourism

Indonesian Rupiah

Indonesian Rupiah (Indonesia):

Code: IDR

Symbol: Rp


1/100= sen


Rp 1000, Rp 2,000, Rp 5,000, Rp 10,000, Rp 20,000, Rp 50,000, Rp 100,000 

Coins  :

 Rp 100, Rp 200, Rp 500, Rp 1,000

Central bank: Bank Indonesia

Other Currencies,

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
9 + 6 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.