Guyanese Dollar Currency | Guyana Dollar Notes

Guyanese dollar

Guyanese Dollar Currency:

The official currency of Guyana (known as British Guiana prior to its independence in 1966) is Guyanese dollar. Although it can be represented by the symbol $, for the sake of distinguishing it from other currencies titled as the same name dollar, the symbols G$ or GY$ are also used while expressing in writing. Bordered on three sides by Venezuela, Brazil and Suriname, the country Guyana is an independent nation which has a northern coastal line of North Atlantic ocean. It is the only country in the entire continent of South America where English is the official language.

The Guyanese dollar is further subdivided into hundred equal parts called cents, although no coins in the name of cents are in circulation presently. The bank notes which are in wide circulation are of the denominations $20, $50, $100, $500, $1000 and $5000. The coins that are in active circulation are $1, $5 and $10. The issuance and regulation of the currency is overseen and monitored by the central bank of the country, the Bank of Guyana established in 1965.

Guyanese Dollar

Guyanese Dollar (Guyana):

Code:  GYD

Symbol: $, G$ and GY$




 $20, $50, $100, $500, $1000, $5000


$1, $5, $10

Central bank:

Bank of Guyana

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
14 + 0 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.