Gambian dalasi currency | Gambia Bank Notes

Gambian Dalasi

Gambian dalasi currency:

The official currency of the Gambia is the dalasi and it is a decimalized currency and is further subdivided into one hundred equal units called bututs. It is denoted by the symbol of D. Dalasi was first introduced in 1971, replaced the Gambian pound at a rate of 1 pound = 5 dalasis.

Coins were introduced in 1971, in the denominations of 1, 5, 10, 25 and 50 bututs and 1 dalasi. In 1987, new 1 dalasi coins were introduced, modelled on the 50 pence coin of the United Kingdom. All the coins of this series portray Sir Dawda Jawara, a former president. A new series of coins introduced in 1998, in which effigy of Dawda Jawara was removed and replaced with the national coat of arms on the obverses. The present coins in circulation are 1, 5, 10, 25, 50 bututs, 1 dalasi.

The bank notes in the denominations of 5, 10, 25, 50, and 100 Dalasis, which were issued in on 27 July 1996, then reprinted in 2001. With improvements in the design, paper thickness, and security features a new series of bank notes was issued on 27 July 2006 by Central Bank of the Gambia. With two new denominations 20 and 200 Dalasis a new family of bank notes was released by Central Bank of the Gambia on April 15, 2015. Banknotes currently in circulation are 5, 10, 20, 25, 50, 100, 200 dalasis. All the bank notes depict former president of the Gambia, Yahya Jammeh.

Gambian Dalasi

Gambian Dalasi (Gambia):

Code:  GMD

Symbol: D




5, 10, 20, 25, 50, 100, 200 dalasis


1, 5, 10, 25, 50 bututs, 1 dalasi

Central bank:

Central Bank of the Gambia

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
16 + 2 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.