Faroese Krona Currency | Faroe Islands Currency

Faroese Krona

Faroese Krona Currency:

The official currency of Faroe Islands is Krona. Faroe Islands is an archipelago located between Norwegian sea and the North Atlantic. The archipelago can be spotted midway between Norway and Iceland. Though the islands come under the kingdom of Denmark with the matters of military defence, foreign affairs and economy being administered by Denmark, Faroe Islands still enjoy local governance to a certain extent, managing its independent trade policy with other nations. The Faroese Krona is pegged with Danish krone at par and is not an independent currency. Both the currencies Faroese Krona and Danish Krone are mutually exchangeable free of charge by the National Bank of Denmark and concurrently used in Faroe Islands.

Faroese Krona is further divided into hundred subunits called oyru(r), with each subunit called oyra. Faroese Krona is represented by the symbol kr. The denominations of the currency notes of Faroese Krona in circulation are 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000 kronur and the coins circulating presently are 50 oyru(r) and 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 kronur.

Faroese Krona

Faroese Krona (Faroe Islands (Denmark)):

Code: FOK

Symbol: kr




50, 100, 200, 500, 1000 krónur


50 oyru(r), 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 krónu

Central bank:

Danmarks National bank

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
2 + 1 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.