Falkland Islands pound currency | Falkland Bank Notes

Falkland Islands Pound

Falkland Islands pound currency:

Pound is the official legal tender currency in Falkland Islands, a British Overseas Territory in the South Atlantic Ocean. It is denoted by the symbol £ and it is same as British Pound Sterling.  FK£ is used to distinguish it from other Pound currencies. It is a decimalized currency and it is further subdivided into one hundred equal units called pence. The Falkland Islands pound is pegged to the pound sterling at par. The pound was first introduced in the Falkland Islands by British in 1833. The former British pound sterling currency which was in circulation earlier  was divided into 20 shillings, each worth of 12 pence.

The coins were introduced in 1974 in the denominations of ½, 1, 2, 5 and 10 pence. 50 pence and 20 pence coins were introduced in 1980 and 1982, respectively. 1 pound coins were issued in 1987 and in 2004, 2 pound coins were introduced. The coins which are in circulation are 1p, 2p, 5p, 10p, 20p, 50p, £1, £2. Between 1899 and 1901, bank notes were issued by government in the denominations of 5 and 10 shillings, 1 and 5 pounds. Until 1916, the 5 shilling notes were issued. 10 and 20 and 50 pound notes were introduced in 1975 and 1984 and 1990, respectively. The present banknotes that are in circulation in Falkland Islands are £5, £10, £20, £50.

Falkland Islands Pound

Falkland Islands Pound (Falkland Islands (UK)):

Code: FKP

Symbol: £, penny (p)


1/100= penny


 £5, £10, £20, £50

Coins  :

 1p, 2p, 5p, 10p, 20p, 50p, £1, £2


 Government of the Falkland Islands

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
3 + 1 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.