Dominican Peso Currency | Dominican Republic

Dominican Peso

Dominican peso currency:

The Dominican Peso is the currency of Dominican Republic. The currency symbol is denoted by $. The peso is divided into 100 centavos. The official code of Dominican peso is DOP. The peso was introduced after the country gained independence from Haiti in 1844. Dominican peso replaced the Haitian gourde at par. Between 1891 and 1897, a second currency, the Franco was issued but did not replace the peso. The peso was replaced by the U.S. dollar in 1905. In 1937, the peso oro was introduced at par with the U.S dollar, in spite of the fact that both US dollar and peso oro co-existed upto 1947. The Currently circulating coins are $1, $5, $10 and $25.  Presently, the banknotes in circulation are of the denominations $50, $100, $200, $500, $1000 and $2000 pesos oros.

Dominican Peso

Dominican Peso (Dominican Republic):

Code:  DOP

Symbol: $ or RD$




$50, $100, $200, $500, $1000, $2000

Coins  :

 $1, $5, $10, $25

Central bank:

 Central Bank of the Dominican Republic

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
1 + 16 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.