You are here

Canadian Dollar | CAD | Canada Currency | Canada Dollar

Canadian dollar

Canadian Dollar Currency:

The official currency of Canada is Canadian dollar. It is worthwhile to mention about its corresponding name in French because the second most important language in Canada after English is French. It is called in French as dollar canadien  or  huard.  It is denoted by the symbol $. To clarify the confusion over the dollars pertaining to other countries, it is denoted by Can$ or sometimes by C$. It is further subdivided into 100 equal parts called cents.

The most used denominations in the paper currency of Canada are $5, $10, $20 and $50 and the most commonly used coins are 5ȼ, 10ȼ, 25ȼ and $1 and $2 whereas the less used denominations in paper currency notes are $100 and that of coins are 50 ȼ.

Canadian Dollar Information:



Sub unit:

 1/100 = cent


$ or Can$ or C$

Unofficial user countries:

Saint Pierre and Miquelon


$5, $10, $20, $50, $100


1¢, 5¢, 10¢, 25¢, 50¢, $1, $2

Central bank:

Bank of Canada

You may like,

Scuba Dive Tour 

Heal Through Pure Ayurveda

Hong Kong Tourist Attractions 

China Top 10 Best Tour Attractions

Brazil Top Tourist Attractions

Best Of Kashmir Tourism

Predecessors Currencies used in Canada:

  • Canadian pound (1841 to 1858)

  • New Brunswick dollar (1860 to 1867)

  • British Columbia dollar (1865 to 1871)

  • Prince Edward Island dollar (1871 to 1873)

  • Nova Scotian dollar (1860 to 1871)

  • Newfoundland dollar (1865 to 1949)

Canadian dollar

Most traded currencies:

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
1 + 1 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.