Aruban Florin Currency | Aurba Florin Bank Notes

Aruban Florin

Aruban florin Currency:

Aruban florin is the official currency of Aruba and it is introduced in 1986 by replacing the Netherlands Antillean guilder at par. Aruban florin is subdivided into 100 cents. The symbol for Aruban florin is Afl and the central bank of Aruba issues the bank notes.

Coins were introduced in 1986 in the denominations of 5, 10, 25 and 50 cents, 1 and 2 12 florin. Later, the 5 florin banknote was replaced by a square coin and the 2 12   florin coin was withdrawn from circulation. Later in 2005, The 5 florin was later replaced with a round golden coin.  All coins are minted in nickel-bonded steel except 5 florin, which is minted in a combination of copper and other metals. 50 cent coins are the only squared shaped coins and it is called "yotin" by locals. The currently circulating coins are   5, 10, 25, 50 cent;  1 and 5 florin.

Bank notes were introduced on January 1, 1986 in the denominations of 5, 10, 25, 50 and 100 florin. Aruban artist Evelino Fingal designed a new colorful family of bank notes in the same denominations, which were issued in 1990.  In 1993, 500 bank note was introduced and in 1995, 5-florin note replaced by a square coin. Currently circulating notes are 10, 25, 50, 100, 500 florin.  

Aruban Florin

Aruban Florin (Aruba (Netherlands)):

Code: AWG

Symbol: Afl

Subunit: 1⁄100=cent


10, 25, 50, 100, 500 florin


5, 10, 25, 50 cent, 1, 5 florin

Central bank:

Central Bank of Aruba

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
4 + 4 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.